US Sports Net Today!

Live Play-by-Play, Updates, Highlights and More! on US Sports Network!
[Chrome Users-You may have to click on the play button twice to listen]
US Sports Network Powered By Beast Sports Nutrition!

US Sports Radio
The Las Vegas Raiders Play Here
Fitness and Sports Performance Info You Can Use!
The Scoreboard Mall
The Rock Almighty Shaker Of Heaven And Earth!
The Coolest Links In The Universe!

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Six Bowie State Bulldogs Named to the 2014 All-CIAA Football First Team

Bulldogs Land Six on CIAA All-Rookie Team

HAMPTON, Va. – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association, in conjunction with the CIAA Football Coaches' Association, is proud to release this season's honorees for the All-CIAA Football First and Second Teams and Players of the Year. The Players of the Year and All-Conference First team were formally introduced this evening at the CIAA Football Championship Banquet in the Durham Convention Center.

Of those named to the All-CIAA First Team include senior tight end Khari Lee (Baltimore, Md.), junior defensive lineman Anthony McDaniel (Fort Washington, Md.), junior defensive back Curtis Pumphrey (Laurel, Md.) and redshirt sophomore punter Christopher Palmer (St. Mary’s, Md.). This marks Lee’s third consecutive year on the All-CIAA First Team and second consecutive year for McDaniel. Pumphrey was named to the 2013 All-CIAA Second Team and was selected to the All-CIAA First Team as well as named the CIAA Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2012. This is Palmer’s first post season honor.

Redshirt freshman Victor Tamba, Jr. (District Heights, Md.) and redshirt sophomore Rahsaan Moore (District Heights, Md.) were selected to the 2014 All-CIAA Second Team. Tamba is an offensive lineman and Moore is a defensive lineman.

This year's All-Conference team is led by Offensive Player of the Year, Jalen Hendricks of Livingstone College and Defensive Player of the Year, Duvontae Covington of Winston-Salem State University.

Winston-Salem State’s Brendon Felder was voted as the Special Teams Player of the Year.

The future appears bright for the Bulldogs football program as Bowie State landed six players on the CIAA All-Rookie team, the league office announced on Thursday, the second-most in the conference.

Tamba leads Bowie State’s All-Rookie contingency and is joined by offensive linemen Diontae Jordan (Bladensburg, Md.) and Bryan Redman (Upper Marlboro, Md.), wide receiver Kerrick Pollock (Miami, Fla.), and defensive backs Britton Savoy (Fort Washington, Md.) and Leon Wheeler (Washington, D.C.)

Saint Augustine’s University wide receiver Claytin Lewis and Virginia Union University defensive back Trevin Gordan were named as the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association's Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year, respectively.

No comments:

Post a Comment