US Sports Net Today!

Live Play-by-Play, Updates, Highlights and More! on US Sports Network!
[Chrome Users-You may have to click on the play button twice to listen]
US Sports Network Powered By Beast Sports Nutrition!

US Sports Radio
The Las Vegas Raiders Play Here
Fitness and Sports Performance Info You Can Use!
The Scoreboard Mall
The Rock Almighty Shaker Of Heaven And Earth!
The Coolest Links In The Universe!

Sunday, May 4, 2014

14th Annual Awards Ceremony Concludes Athletic Season

BOWIE, Md. – The Bowie State University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics concluded its 2013-2014 athletic year Sunday (5/4) afternoon with its 14th Annual Awards Ceremony on campus in the Fine and Performing Arts Building - Main Stage Theater. Athletic as well as academic awards were presented to members of each of Bowie State’s athletic teams and the inaugural Bowie State Athletic Hall of Fame Class was inducted.

Highlights of the evening included the presentation of 82 student-athletes, as well as six student managers/trainers with a 3.0 or better grade point average, 2013-2014 Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year (Brelyn Finley and Delante White), Volunteer of the Year (M. Burton Cornish), Service Award (Department of Student Life), Highest Team GPA (Women’s Volleyball – 3.17) and Coaches of the Year (Danielle Adams – Women’s Tennis and Damon Wilson - Football). Following is a full list of awards presented at the event:

(Volleyball) Brooke Archer-Simpson, Lace Coleman, Alexis Fisher, Briana Flowers, Antonique Johnson, Symone’ Jordan, Marissa Martinez, India Mason and Yaje Ngundam … (Football) Jaylen Byrdsong-Powell, Julian Crandall, Syree Davis, Tyler Drew, Alexander Eason, David Izebere, Kendall Jefferson, Daris Johnson, Urijah Johnson, Durrell Jones, Marcus King, Christopher Labidou, Khari Lee, Michael Miller, Justin Nestor, Denzel Prince, Quentin Walker, Eric Walters, Leon Wheeler (4.0 – Fall 2013) and Antoine Young … (Men’s Track & Field) Malik Butts, Daniel Ballah, Wendell Felder, Keenan Frye (4.0 Fall 2013) and Kenyon Sellers … (Women’s Track & Field) Maya Belvin, Kiara Dickerson, Phyllicia Ennis, Bobbie Jones, Brianna Milbourne, Jamilah Muhammad, Kendall Reynolds, Ayanna Tweedy and Kayla Watson … (Cheerleading) Erica Baynes, Vivica Brooks, Jordan Hayworthne, Erica Johnson, Chantel Lattimore, Kendra Ross (4.0 – Fall 2013), Stephanie Wilcher and Tyriq Simmons … (Women’s Bowling) Ambrianna Bankston, Shayla Lightfoot, Adrienne Tolson and Ashley Wade … (Men’s Basketball) Justin Beck, Joel Clemmons, Ray Gatling, David Golladay, Cameron, Knox and Dayshawn Wells (4.0 – Fall 2013) … (Women’s Basketball) Uchechi Ahaiwe, Alisha Burley, Ashley Davis, Alessandra Flores, Alauna Jackson, Jasmine McIntosh, Donia Naylor, Keira Phipps and Reven Smith… (Women’s Tennis) Mieke Allen, Brianna Burke, Channae Manning (4.0 – Fall 2013) and Iyabode Sodipo (4.0 – Fall 2013) … (Softball) Hailey Bethke, Cassandra Clayborne (4.0 – Fall 2013), Hayley Flint, Alexis Frazier, Mariela Hernandez, Adria Lewis (4.0 – Fall 2013), Miranda Luna and Kiara Washington … (Student Managers) Natalie Kernizan (Football), Iesha Lee (Football), Breanna Lumpkin (Football), Lana Williamson (Football) and Jacquilla Wright (Men’s Basketball – 4.0 Fall 2013) … (Student Trainer) Shaneeka Smith.

Most Improved Golden Girl – Maya Brown
“Rookie” Golden Girl of the Year – Selena Slaughter
Most Valuable Golden Girl – Britnne Matthews

Offensive Most Valuable Player – Omar Fahnbulleh
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Anthony McDaniel
Jerome Harrington Courage Award – Kendall Jefferson

Most Valuable Player – Yaje Ngundam
Coaches Award – Brelyn Finley
Most Improved – Amy Harvey

Unsung Hero – Alisha Burley
Most Improved – ReVen Smith
Most Outstanding – Donia Naylor

Academic Award – Justin Beck
Newcomer of the Year – Zafir Williams
Most Valuable Player – Ray Gatling

Women’s Most Valuable Runner – Brittany Williams
Men’s Most Valuable Runner – Rhema Ndjami
Women’s “Lisa Wiggins” Courage Award – Faith Sykes
Men’s Lisa Wiggins Courage Award – Ronald Exum
Women’s Most Improved Runner – Leia Conrad
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Vernon Swanson

Women’s Most Consistent Athlete – Kendall Reynolds
Women’s Most Valuable – Brelyn Finley
Women’s “Lisa Wiggins” Courage Award – Rayshawn Penn
Men’s “Lisa Wiggins” Courage Award – Channing Johnson
Men’s Improved – Brian Tyler
Men’s Most Valuable – Rhema Ndjami

Women’s Most Improved Runner – Alicia Grant
Women’s “Lisa Wiggins” Courage Award – Jade George
Women’s Most Valuable – Brelyn Finley
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Jonathan Harper
Men’s “Lisa Wiggins” Courage Award – Sonny Hicks
Men’s Most Valuable – Rhema Ndjami

Most Improved – Antonique Johnson
Hustle Award – Amber Peters
Coaches Award – Rahwa Habtemariam

Most Improved – Ashley Wade
Most Valuable – Shayla Lightfoot

Coaches Award – Mariela Hernandez
Most Improved Player – Megan Windsor
Most Valuable Player – Cassandra Clayborne

Each student-athlete, including those listed above, received a certificate of participation for the 2013-2014 athletic year.

No comments:

Post a Comment