US Sports Net Today!

Live Play-by-Play, Updates, Highlights and More! on US Sports Network!
[Chrome Users-You may have to click on the play button twice to listen]
US Sports Network Powered By Beast Sports Nutrition!

US Sports Radio
The Las Vegas Raiders Play Here
Fitness and Sports Performance Info You Can Use!
The Scoreboard Mall
The Rock Almighty Shaker Of Heaven And Earth!
The Coolest Links In The Universe!

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Shayla Lightfoot and Byron Westmorland Named Student-Athletes of the Year at Annual Awards Ceremony

BOWIE, Md.  The Bowie State University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics wrapped up its 2012-2013 athletic year Sunday (5/5) afternoon with its 13th Annual Awards Banquet on campus in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Building Auditorium.  Athletic as well as academic awards were presented to members of each of Bowie State’s athletic teams.

            Highlights of the evening included the presentation of 78 student-athletes with a 3.0 or better grade point average, 2012-2013 Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year (Shayla Lightfoot and Byron Westmorland), Volunteer of the Year (Ed Martin, Sr.), Service Award (Darrell Givens), Appreciation Award (BSU National Alumni Association), Highest Team GPA (Women’s Tennis – 3.22) and Coaches of the Year (Ken Scott – Women’s Bowling and Darrell Brooks – Men’s Basketball).  Following is a full list of awards presented at the event:

(Volleyball) Remi Anderson, Alexis Fisher, Briana Flowers, Marissa Martinez, Paige McIntosh and Yaje Ngundam …(Football) Paul Barnes, Matthew Brown, Michael Carter, Javan Carter, Ridwan Cole, Kaje Cowans, Nigel Cross, Quintin Deadrick, Omar Fahnbulleh, Ramano Flowers, Jordan Garrison, Kendall Jefferson, Urijah Johnson, Gregory Koepping (4.0 – Fall 2012), Oladimeji Layeni, Michael Miller Matthew Odezugo, Aaron Proctor, Curtis Pumphrey, Paxten Queen, Stanley Savoy, Dominic Shepard, Quentin Walker, Dalante White, Aaron Wilson and Jerel Womack …(Men’s Track & Field) Demetrius Barkley, Ndjami Chick, Cullen Moseley, Akinola Vaughan, Alonzo Williams and Rodney Williams … (Women’s Track & Field) Shayla Davis, Jade George, Rayshawn Penn, Indya Price, Kenya Rollins, Ayanna Tweedy and Kayla Watson … (Cheerleading) Shantel Assata, Tanisha Brown (4.0 – Fall 2012), Tamara Ellis, Aleisha Gillison, Giovanna Hunt, Erica Johnson, Latrese Lucas, Shannon Minor, Brianna Nelson, Jakira Proctor, Kendra Ross, Karina Sanchez, Lucritia Stewart, Raiven Taylor (4.0 – Spring 2012) and Stephanie Wilcher …(Women’s Bowling) Brina Evans, Shayla Lightfoot and Demetria Venable … (Men’s Basketball) Justin Beck, Branden Doughty, Dametric Scott and Byron Westmorland … (Women’s Basketball) Cortney Baynard, Alessandra Flores, Brooke Miles and Reven Smith… (Women’s Tennis) Kassandra Bishop (4.0 – Fall 2012), Channae Manning and Iyabode Sodipo (4.0 – Fall 2012) … (Softball) Cassandra Clayborne (4.0 – Spring 2012 and Fall 2012), Hayley Flint(4.0 Spring 2012) and Mariela Hernandez.

Most Improved Golden Girl – Chantel Lattimore
“Rookie” Golden Girl of the Year – Karina Sanchez
Most Valuable Golden Girl – Shannon Minor

Offensive Most Valuable Player – Dajuan Smith
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Olademeji Layeni
Jerome Harrington Courage Award – Delante White

Most Valuable Player – Marissa Martinez
Coaches Award – Briana Flowers
Most Improved – Brelyn Finley

Unsung Hero – Jasmine Jacobs
Scholar-Athlete – Cortney Baynard
Most Outstanding – Bria Robinson

Academic Award – Justin Beck
Newcomer of the Year – Ray Gatling
Most Valuable Player – Byron Westmorland

Women’s Most Valuable Runner – Brittany Williams
Men’s Most Valuable Runner – Ndjami Chick
Women’s Lisa Wiggins Courageous Award – Michelle Palmer
Men’s Lisa Wiggins Courageous Award – Sonny Hicks
Women’s Most Improved Runner – Faith Sykes
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Jalaeme Gomez

Women’s “Moultrie” Award – Michelle Palmer
Women’s Co-Most Valuable – Kendall Reynolds and Brelyn Finley
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Ndjami Chick
Men’s “Moultrie” Award – Anthony Kiser
Most Valuable – Dana Smothers

Women’s Most Improved Runner – Indya Price
Women’s Charles “Pop” Williams Award – Brittany Williams
Women’s Most Valuable – Kendall Reynolds
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Travis Scarborough
Men’s Charles “Pop” Williams Award – Alonzo Williams
Men’s Most Valuable – Christopher Allen

Most Improved – Diara Mackey
Most Consistent – Mieke Allen
Most Valuable – Kassandra Bishop

Most Improved – Demetria Venable
Come-Back Player of the Year – Ambrianna Bankston
Most Valuable – Shayla Lightfoot

Most Improved – Aurikshauna Ratliff
Offensive Most Valuable Player – Cassandra Clayborne
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Kiara Washington

Each student-athlete, including those listed above, received a certificate of participation for the 2012-2013 athletic year.

No comments:

Post a Comment