US Sports Net Today!

Live Play-by-Play, Updates, Highlights and More! on US Sports Network!
[Chrome Users-You may have to click on the play button twice to listen]
US Sports Network Powered By Beast Sports Nutrition!

US Sports Radio
The Las Vegas Raiders Play Here
Fitness and Sports Performance Info You Can Use!
The Scoreboard Mall
The Rock Almighty Shaker Of Heaven And Earth!
The Coolest Links In The Universe!

Monday, May 7, 2012


 (BOWIE, Md. – May 6, 2012)  The Bowie State University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics concluded its 2011-2012 athletic year Sunday (5/6) afternoon with its 12th Annual Awards Banquet on campus in the Center for Learning and Technology.  Athletic as well as academic awards were presented to members of each of Bowie State’s athletic teams.

                Highlights of the evening included the presentation of 129 student-athletes with a 3.0 or better grade point average, 2011-2012 Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Year (Cara Nance and William Bailey), Volunteer of the Year (Jordan White), Service Award (Larry Colbert), Highest Team GPA (Women’s Tennis – 3.27) and Coaches of the Year (Michelle Latimer and Darrell Brooks).  Following is a full list of awards presented at the event:

STUDENT-ATHLETE HONOR ROLL - 3.0 or Better (Bold Names Indicate Spring 2011 and Fall 2011)
(Volleyball) Lakisha Carney, Kassondra Greis, JaTyra Heath, Symone Jordan (4.0), Kyerra Martin, Paige McIntosh and Jasmine Nixon (4.0) … (Football) Bekwele Amadi, Paul Barnes, Reginald Berry, Antonio Bond, Keith Brown, Matthew Brown, Jeremy Buckner, Javan Carter, Darius ClairRidwan Cole, Kaje Cowans, Oghene Erhie, Michael Gagne, Julius George, Jerrell Gibbs, Sterling Grant-Jones (4.0 – Spring 2011), Keith Harris, Gary Henderson, Kevin James, Kendall Jefferson, Andre Johnson, Antonio Johnson, Tariq JonesKenyon KinardGregory Koepping, Henry Martinez, Jonathan Mason, Raymond Milner, Cavin Murray, Matthew Odezugo, Alexander Payton, Quentin Pearson, Clifford Pigford, Dwayne Price, Stanley Savoy, Quentin Walker, Rodney Webb, Delante White, Glen White, Reginald Williams, Aaron Wilson and Abdul Yilla … (Men’s Track & Field) Joffrey AlcidorDemetrius Barkley, Calvin Crawley, Collin Cumberbatch, Wendell Felder, Jeffrey Fulton, Jamin Gallman, Kaylup Hatcher, Anthony Kiser, David Matthews, Freeman McGraw, Oluwatobi Owolabi, Donnie Roach, Daryl Sanders (4.0 Spring 2011), J.D. Tharpe, III, Antawn Walker, Michael Wallace, James Washington, Alonzo Williams and Rodney Williamson … (Women’s Track & Field) Johnnae Allen-Davis, Jasmine Butler,Lakisha Carney, Crishona Coffey, Myriah DavisShayla Davis, Brelyn Finley, Jade George (4.0 – Spring 2011), Alyce Harrell, Nyra Larkins, Tori Lewis-Johnson, Bridgette Ogunmokun, Indya Price, Nicole Robinson and Ayanna Tweedy … (Cheerleading) Erica Baynes, Courtney Forbes (4.0), Giovanna Hunt, Erica Johnson, Shannon Minor, Brianna Nelson, Kendra Ross, Joseph Scott and Courtney Williams … (Women’s Bowling) Quinn Armstrong Adeshola Ashiru, Dominique Carroll, Cherrelle, Coombs, Rebecca Frusciante and Shayla Lightfoot … (Men’s Basketball) Julien Bouil, Darren Clark, Jay Gavin, Julian Harrell, Travis HymanByron Westmorland, Najee White and Bryan Wilson … (Women’s Basketball) Cortney Baynard (4.0), Alisha Burley, Brittney Jackson, Kimberly Jones, Brooke Miles, Joanna Murray, Brianna Taylor and Lakisha Walker … (Women’s Tennis) Kassandra Bishop (4.0), Rebekah Cabaltica, Chelyce Fields, Amanda Hamilton, Jasmine Harvey, Kyara Lombre and Iyabode Sodipo … (Softball) Megan Alexander, Cassandra Clayborne (4.0), Hayley Flint (4.0)Mariela Hernandez (4.0 – Spring 2011)Adria Lewis, Danielle McClay, Renelle Traylor and Cherokee Williams.
Most Improved Golden Girl – Donnice Young
“Rookie” Golden Girl of the Year – Giovanna Hunt
Most Valuable Golden Girl – Jessica Parker

Offensive Most Valuable Player – Dajuan Smith
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Delano Johnson
Most Outstanding Player – James Proctor, Jr.

Most Valuable Player – Cara Nance
Coaches Award – Brelyn Finley
Most Improved – Remi Anderson

Most Improved – Kimberly Jones
Scholar-Athlete – Cortney Baynard
Most Outstanding – Juliette Turner

Academic Award – Byron Westmorland
Newcomer of the Year – Dameatric Scott
Most Valuable Player – Darren Clark

Women’s Most Valuable Runner – Brittany Williams
Men’s Most Valuable Runner – J.D. Tharpe, III
Women’s Charles “Pop” Williams Award – Shayla Davis
Men’s Charles “Pop” Williams Award – Javier Davis
Women’s Most Improved Runner – Vernesse Thomas-Quickley
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Sonny Hicks

Women’s Most Improved – Jade George
Women’s “Moultrie” Award – Shayla Davis
Women’s Most Valuable – Vernesse Thomas-Quickley
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Anthony Kiser
Men’s “Moultrie” Award – Dana Smothers
Most Valuable – Jonathan Harper


Women’s Most Improved Runner – Brandy Peat and Ayanna Tweedy
Women’s “Moultrie” Award – Shayla Davis
Women’s Most Valuable – Brittany Davis
Men’s Most Improved Runner – Oluwatobi Owolabi
Men’s “Moultrie” Award – Demetrius Barkley
Men’s Most Valuable – William Bailey

Rookie of the Year – Channae Manning
Coach’s Award – Rebekah Cabaltica
Coach’s Award – Amanda Hamilton

Most Improved – Demetria Venable
Rookie of the Year – Shayla Lightfoot
Most Valuable – Ambrianna Bankston

Offensive Player of the Year – Adria Lewis
Co-Most Valuable Player – Cara Nance
Co-Most Valuable Player – Cassandra Clayborne

                Each student-athlete, including those listed above, received a certificate of participation for the 2011-2012 athletic year.

No comments:

Post a Comment